Alabama Board of Nursing Alert
The Alabama Board of Nursing has become aware that nurses employed by home infusion companies operating in Alabama are delivering nursing services and nursing care infusion therapy services to include PICC lines and intrathecal infusions. These procedures are considered practice beyond basic nursing education, and nurses may not perform these procedures in Alabama unless they are doing so pursuant to a standardized procedure which has been approved in accordance with the requirements of Alabama Board of Nursing Administrative Code § 610-X-6-.12.
Bureau of Health Provider Standards
The Bureau of Health Provider Standards is Alabama's regulatory agency responsible for licensing and/or certifying health care facilities. The Bureau consists of the Division of Health Care Facilities and the Provider Services Unit.
Health Care Facilities
The Division of Health Care Facilities certifies facilities for participation in the Medicare and/or Medicaid programs; works to ensure the level of care being delivered complies with state and federal standards and is continually
The division conducts surveys of health care facilities. When facilities are found to be noncompliant with federal and state regulations a corrective action plan is required
- Health Care Facilities Descriptions
- Health Care Facilities Directory
- Health Care Facilities Rules
- Tips for Selecting a Nursing Home
- Alabama Certified Nurse Aide Registry
- To File a Nursing Home Complaint
- To File an Assisted Living Facility Complaint
Annual License Renewal for 2018
Online License Renewal Applications for 2018 are now being accepted. All 2017 health care facility licenses will expire December 31, 2017. Any health care facility that does not renew its license by December 31, 2017, or does not renew its license and pay the accrued late fees by January 31, 2018, will no longer be licensed.
You will need your FacID and PIN to log in and process online renewal applications. Facilities must provide a ten (10) digit NPI number. A facility may enter XXXXXXXXXX if the facility has not been issued a NPI number.
Manual renewal is required for probational facilities. If you did not receive a notice in the mail with appropriate information, are unable to take advantage of the online payment methods and require a manual application, or if you have any other questions, please contact the Alabama Department of Public Health, Provider Services Unit, at 334-206-5175.
In accordance with Section 22-21-24 of the Code of Alabama, 1975, a license renewal application which is not received by the expiration date in a properly completed form and accompanied by the appropriate renewal fee shall be subject to a late penalty equal to $300 or 100 percent of the renewal fee, whichever is greater.
The Division of Provider Services processes initial licensure and certification applications, maintains and distributes health care facilities and certified provider directories, and publishes, maintains and distributes facility licensure rules. The division also processes bed change requests, change of ownership applications, and provides consultation to health care providers and the general public relating to health care licensure requirements and certification standards and procedures.
If you would like to receive a Medicare certification enrollment application, please contact us at (334) 206-5175.
Notice to All Certified Health Care Facilities and
Those Seeking Certification
The Department of Public Health Licensure and Certification section must have a correct facility name and address that is consistent with the official name and address on record with the Center for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) and their Medicare Administrative Contractor (MAC) - the Fiscal Intermediary.
To that end it is the policy of the Department
Independent Informal Dispute Resolution Policy and Procedure
In accordance with Section 6111 of the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, all State Survey Agencies were required to develop a process for Independent Informal Dispute Resolution (IIDR). This type of dispute resolution applies only to situations in which a nursing home survey, begun after January 1, 2012, results in deficiency citation(s) at the scope and severity level of G or above and for which CMS has imposed a civil monetary penalty which will be collected and placed in escrow.
CMS provided Interim Advance Guidance about the IIDR Policy to the states in S&C: 12-08-NH, detailing the requirements for such a plan. The Atlanta Regional Office of CMS recently approved the plan for the ADPH. The complete IIDR Policy is posted here for public information.
If questions arise about this policy, please send a written inquiry
Page last updated: December 6, 2017