APPLICATION TO REQUEST A NEW BIRTH CERTIFICATE AFTER ADOPTION

When a child is adopted through an Alabama court, the court forwards the order of adoption and information showing the child’s new name
and the names of the new parents to the Center for Health Statistics in Alabama. Upon receipt of the information, the Center for Health
Statistics will do one of the following depending upon where the child was born:

IF THE ADOPTED CHILD WAS BORN IN ALABAMA:
e The Center for Health Statistics will prepare a new birth certificate for the child showing the new names.
e The fee to prepare the new certificate of birth after adoption is $25.00 which includes one certified copy of the new record. Additional
copies of the same record ordered at the same time are $6.00 each. There is an additional fee of $15.00 to expedite a request.
e To obtain a copy of the child’s new birth certificate, complete the application form below. Valid identification must be submitted
with arequest for a new Alabama birth certificate after adoption. See the identification requirements on the reverse side.

IF THE ADOPTED CHILD WAS BORN IN ANOTHER STATE:
e The new birth certificate for the child must be prepared in the state where the child was born.
e The fee for the Center for Health Statistics to forward the order of adoption to the child’s state of birth is $10.00.
e Upon receipt of the fee, the Center for Health Statistics will forward the court order of adoption and the information showing the new
name to the appropriate vital records office in the state where the child was born.
e You will need to contact the state of birth for a copy of the new certificate.

Make check or money order payable to “State Board of Health.” Do not send cash. Fees are non-refundable. Complete the application
below and send with the required documents and appropriate fee to:
Center for Health Statistics
Attn: Adoptions
P.O. Box 5625
Montgomery, Alabama 36103-5625

Please allow 2-4 weeks after the court action has been completed before mailing your request, valid identification (if requesting an Alabama
birth certificate) and fee. If this is an adult adoption or you have additional questions, call 334.206.2637. Visit our website at
www.alabamapublichealth.gov/vitalrecords.

IF THE CHILD WAS BORN IN A FOREIGN COUNTRY, DO NOT COMPLETE THIS FORM. Call 334.206.2637 for additional information
and appropriate forms.

FULL NAME OF CHILD BEFORE ADOPTION (IF KNOWN)

First Middle Last

FULL NAME OF CHILD AFTER ADOPTION

First Middle Last

STATE OF BIRTH COUNTY OF BIRTH

DATE OF BIRTH SEX

FULL NAME OF ADOPTIVE MOTHER/PARENT
BEFORE FIRST MARRIAGE

FULL NAME OF ADOPTIVE FATHER/PARENT
BEFORE FIRST MARRIAGE

APPLICANT SECTION If Alabama Birth, Amount
(THIS SECTION MUST BE COMPLETED) Number of Copies Enclosed $

Valid identification must be submitted with a request to change a birth certificate. Anyone falsely applying for arecord is subject to
a penalty upon conviction of up to three months in the county jail or a fine of up to $500. (Code of Alabama 1975,
§ 13A-10-109). By signing, you are certifying you have a legal right to the record requested.

Your Signature Date

Print Your Name

Your Relationship to Child

Mail to Name (if Different from You)

Mailing Address

City State Zip Daytime Phone ( )

| allow the following individual to receive the certificate(s)

ADPH-HS-88/Rev. 05/01/2019



IDENTIFICATION REQUIREMENTS FOR RESTRICTED ALABAMA VITAL RECORDS

Identification is required of any applicant requesting a restricted Alabama vital record (birth certificate
less than 125 years from the date of birth or death certificate less than 25 years from the date of death). The
applicant must submit a completed request and one form of identification from the Primary ID list below. In
the event the applicant is unable to provide identification from the Primary ID list, he/she may provide two
different forms of identification from the Secondary ID list.

If the applicant designates another individual to pick up a restricted certificate on his/her behalf, both
the applicant and the designee must provide acceptable identification.

The completed request, as well as a copy of all identification submitted, will be maintained by the vital
records office which processes the request.

Primary IDs Including PHOTO Secondary IDs
(need at least one, current, expired no more (need at least two)
than 60 days)
- Alabama Driver’s License
- Out-of-State Driver’s License - Expired, Government-Issued ID
- State-Issued Non-Driver ID - Utility Bill (No more than 6 months old)
- U.S. or Foreign Passport - Work ID (If applicant is making personal
- U.S. Certificate of Naturalization request)
- Certificate of Citizenship - Vehicle Registration or Vehicle Title
- U.S. Military ID - Property Tax Bill
- Work ID (If applicant is employee of - Military Discharge (DD Form 214)
agency/company making request) - Voter Registration Card
- Alien Resident Card (Temporary or - Health Insurance Card
Permanent) - Social Security Correspondence (not
- U.S. Employment Authorization Card Card)
- Citizenship ID Card - U.S. Selective Service Card
- Tribal ID - Recent DMV Receipt for Fines Paid
- Pilot’s License - Fishing or Hunting License
- Boating License - Copy of Police Report or other official
- Concealed Weapons License documents which support theft, in cases
-  Ex-Felon ID where individual's ID has been stolen
- Inmate ID issued by the U.S. Dept of - Autism Spectrum Card
Justice w/ following documentation: - Immunization (Shot) Record
0 Supporting documents from
institution if inmate is still in *In special cases where applicant is unable to
custody, letter of release from provide any of these documents, please contact
institution if inmate has been CHS at 334.206.5418.
released
- School ID (Must include current school
term)
- Alabama Voter Identification Card




