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NOTICE   

 
THIS APLICATION WAS REVISED DECEMBER 2021 

PLEASE READ CAREFULLY 

 
Change of Ownership License Application  

To Operate a Sleep Disorders Facility 

 
Regulations affecting the application for licensure of Sleep Disorders 

Facilities can be found by clicking the Rules tab or link on the 
applications page. 

 
The following information should be submitted in support of an application for a change of 
ownership at least 30 days prior to the effective date of the change. 
 
1. A completed Change of Ownership license application and $240 application 
fee.  Application fees are not refundable. Checks or money orders must be made payable 
to the Alabama Department of Public Health. 
 
2. A copy of the Articles of Incorporation, Articles of Organization, LLC Agreement, 
Partnership Agreement or Statement of Sole Proprietorship under which the Sleep 
Disorders Facility will operate post transaction. Corporations, Limited Partnerships and 
Limited Liability Companies filing an application for a change of ownership must provide a 
copy of their Certificate of Existence (for domestic entities) or Certificate of Registration 
(for foreign entities) from the Alabama Secretary of State), as proof of authority to transact 
business in the state of Alabama. 
 
3. A draft copy of the agreement effecting the change of ownership, such as an asset 
purchase, lease, or management agreement. An unsigned copy of the agreement or a 
final draft is acceptable for submittal with this application; however, a copy of the fully 
executed agreement must be submitted prior to the issuance of a license certificate. 
   
A copy of the application will be forwarded to the Division of Healthcare Facilities Medicare 
Other Unit following initial review by the Licensure Unit. A staff member from the Medicare 
Other Unit will contact the applicant if an onsite licensure survey is required before the 
license can be granted. 
 
*NOTE* Due to workload volume, application review takes a minimum of 30 days.  An 
onsite survey (if required) could add considerable time to completion of the review 
process.  Applications must therefore be submitted well in advance of the date of the 
anticipated change of ownership and with all required documentation, as noted in the 
instructions, before the review can begin. 
 
The earliest date a license can be granted is the first day the complete application and 
any required surveys have been approved by the Department. [For certified health 
care facilities and agencies, application to the appropriate Medicare Administrative  
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Contractor (MAC) is recommended 180 days in advance of the anticipated date of the 
change of ownership.]  
 
FOR STATE LICENSURE PURPOSES, A CHANGE OF OWNERSHIP IN NOT 
EFFECTIVE UNTIL A NEW LICENSE CERTIFICATE REFECTING THE CHANGE HAS 
BEEN ISSUED.  
 

 

Printing of License Certificates  
 

License certificates are now available online. When a license is granted or renewed, the 
license certificate can be printed on-line at 
https://dph1.adph.state.al.us/FacilityCertificatePrint.  A facility ID and pin number will be 
provided and must be used to print license certificates. 
 
Please note: It is a violation of state law to operate as a Sleep Disorders Facility 
before you are granted a license from the Alabama Department of Public Health.  If 
you have questions regarding the application, please call (334) 206-5175.  
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(Revised 12/2021) 

 
APPLICATION INSTRUCTIONS 

Sleep Disorders Facility 
 

Changes in the ownership of a licensed Sleep Disorders Facility are reviewed on a 
case-by-case basis by the Alabama Department of Public Health. A license 
application for a change of ownership in a Sleep Disorders Facility may be required 
in the circumstances described below (see also 42 C.F.R. § 489.18 and State 
Operations Manual Section 3210.1D); however, changes of ownership may not be 
limited to these situations. See Ala. Admin. Code r. 420-5-18-.02. 
Please consult the Licensure Division for a determination as to whether a Change of 
Ownership License Application is required if the applicable transaction is not 
described. 
 
Unincorporated Sole Proprietorship. If a provider entity is owned by a single individual, 
approval for a change of ownership is required when transferring title of that provider entity 
to another person or firm, regardless of whether the transaction includes transfer of title to 
the real estate.  Approval for a change of ownership is also required if the former owner 
becomes one of the members of a partnership or corporation succeeding him/her as the 
new owner. 
 
Partnership. The removal, addition, or substitution of an individual as a partner in the 
provider entity dissolves the old partnership, creates a new partnership, and 
constitutes a change of ownership, unless expressly provided otherwise in the 
transaction. Questions regarding the applicability of this requirement under Alabama 
law will be submitted to the CMS Regional Office for final determination.  
 
Corporation. A change in the members of the governing body of the provider entity’s 
owner corporation, regardless of whether ownership of the corporation stock is transferred, 
would not constitute a change of ownership as long as the same corporation continues to 
be the legal entity responsible for operation of the provider entity. 
 

• A merger of one or more corporations into the provider corporation, with the 

Medicare-participating provider corporation surviving, does not constitute a change 

of ownership. 

• If the corporation that survives the merger is not the former owner of the provider 

corporation, a change of ownership has occurred. 

• Consolidation or merger of two or more corporations that results in the creation of a 

new corporate entity having ownership control over a provider constitutes a change 

of ownership. 

• Transfer of corporate stock does not constitute a change of ownership. 

Leasing. The lease of all or part of a provider facility constitutes a change of ownership of 

the leased portion. If only part of the provider facility is leased, the original provider 

agreement remains in effect only with respect to the unleased portion. The Department 

does a survey and prepares a certification covering the leased portion as a new provider. 

Documents must be provided to the Department that indicate which individual or entity has  
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first level authority over, and responsibility for, the provider located within the leased 

premises. 

Management Firm. A firm that contracts with the owners to manage a provider entity, 
subject to the owners’ general approval of operating decisions, is an agent of the owners 
rather than a partner or successor. If management in that sense is turned over to a 
management firm, this would not constitute a change of ownership, even though the 
management firm may appear to have wide latitude in making decisions, and even though 
its fee may be based on the net revenue or profit the provider entity receives from 
furnishing services. 
 
The only time an operation under a management agreement would constitute a 
change of ownership is when the owner has relinquished all authority and 
responsibility for the provider entity. Questionable cases will be submitted to the CMS 
Regional Office for a final determination. 
 
Franchise. If a provider entity states it is a franchisee of another entity which is the owner 
of the provider, a determination must be reached concerning which entity is the provider 
that will hold legally responsible for complying with all applicable law and regulations 
before the change of ownership can be processed.  
 
Item 1: Applicant. The applicant should be the legal name of the individual, partnership, 
corporation, or other entity who will become the governing authority of the Sleep Disorders 
Facility upon the change of ownership and in whose name the license will be issued. The 
applicant’s name as stated on the application must be identical to the name reflected on 
the corporate documents submitted with the application. If the Sleep Disorders Facility is 
operated by another entity pursuant to a lease agreement, the lessee should be listed as 
the applicant, and a copy of the lease agreement must be submitted with the application.  
 
NOTE - The applicant must be the operator of the Sleep Disorders Facility, the entity 
that makes employment decisions concerning the Sleep Disorders Facility’s 
administrator, determines patient care issues, makes payment for the Sleep 
Disorders Facility’s financial obligations, etc.  
 
The Department does not recognize fictitious business names (d/b/a’s) as such or require 
their disclosure. Businesses are not required to register a d/b/a or trade name with the 
Alabama Secretary of State. If a d/b/a is included as part of the applicant’s legal name in 
Item 1, the d/b/a will be reflected on the license. If the d/b/a will be utilized as the facility 
name, it should be entered in Item 6.  
 
Item 6: Facility Name. The information provided on this line will be entered in the 
Department’s Provider Services Directory, and the Sleep Disorders Facility will be referred 
to by this name. This same name should be reflected on all the Sleep Disorders Facility’s 
advertisements, letterhead, and signage. The name must be unique to the Sleep 
Disorders Facility - that is, it may not be the same as the name of any other licensed 
facility in Alabama, nor may it be so similar to the name of any other licensed facility that, 
in the judgment of Department staff, it could create any confusion in the mind of the public. 
Governing authorities operating more than one facility may give the facilities they operate 
similar, but not identical, names. The facility name may be abbreviated if the abbreviation  
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is also used on all advertisements, letterhead, and signage.  
 
Item 8: Facility’s Mailing Address. The Sleep Disorders Facility’s mailing address or 
post office box must be within the same postal service area as its street address.  
 
Item 17:  Administrator’s Signature. The administrator designated in Item 5 to run the 
Sleep Disorders Facility on behalf of the applicant must sign the application and make the 
attestation in this section.  
 
Item 18: Attestation of Responsible Person.  A company officer, board member, 
administrator or other responsible person of the applicant must sign the application and 
make the attestation in this section. 
 
Item 19: Current Licensee’s Signature. A company officer, board member, administrator 
or other responsible person of the current licensee must sign the application and make the 
attestation in this section. 
 
Application Fee. The application fee for a Sleep Disorders Facility is $240. Application 
fees are not refundable. Checks or money orders must be made payable to the Alabama 
Department of Public Health and submitted with the application.  
 
Attachments. Each attachment to the application must be specifically referenced within 
the application and labeled accordingly. For example, an attachment to item 14(d) should 
be referenced in the application and labeled as such. 
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(Revised 12/2021) 
 
 

STATE OF ALABAMA 
DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC HEALTH 
DIVISION OF PROVIDER SERVICES 

P.O. BOX 303017 (MAILING ADDRESS) 
MONTGOMERY, ALABAMA 36130-3017 

THE RSA TOWER, SUITE 700, 201 MONROE STREET, MONTGOMERY, AL 36104 
(PHYSICAL LOCATION) 

 
 

CHANGE OF OWNERSHIP LICENSE APPLICATION TO OPERATE A SLEEP 
DISORDERS FACILITY 

  
APPLICATION FEE 

APPLICATION FEES ARE NOT REFUNDABLE.   
The fee is $240. 

 
 MAKE CHECK OR MONEY ORDER PAYABLE TO: 

ALABAMA DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC HEALTH 

 
FOR DEPARTMENTAL USE ONLY 

 
Application Fee ____________ Check # ___________ 
 
Facility ID # ___________________________________ 
 
 
 

 
 
  

 1. ________________________________________ 
 Applicant 
                   (see instructions on page 4) 
  
 
 2. ________________________________________
                 Applicant Address 
 
 
 3. ________________________________________ 

City  State                     Zip Code 
 
 
 4. ________________________________________ 

Applicant Telephone Number  
 
  
 5. ________________________________________ 
                        Facility Administrator 
                   
  
 
    _________________________________________ 
            Facility Administrator’s Email Address 

  6.______________________________________ 
                               Facility Name 

       (see instructions on page 4) 
 
 
  7.______________________________________ 
                      Facility Physical Address 
 
  
  8.______________________________________ 
                         Facility Mailing Address  
                    (see instructions on page 5) 
 
 
  9. _____________________________________ 

City               Zip Code                County 
 
 
10. _____________________________________ 
                         Facility Telephone Number                
 
 
11.  ____________________________________ 
    Facility ID Number 
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12.  This application is to apply for (check one):    
 

  a. Change of ownership         b.  Change of ownership and name change       
 
 The facility is currently licensed as ____________________________________________________. 

                                                                 (Facility name)  
 
13. Applicant Information  
 

a. Applicant is a (check one): 
 

Individual    Nonprofit Corporation   City    

Partnership    Hospital Authority   County   

Corporation    State     Joint City County  

  Limited Liability Company     Other: _____________________________________   

                   Specify    
 

 
b. List all the applicant’s board members and officers (attach additional paper if necessary). 

 
________________________________  ________________________________ 

 
________________________________  ________________________________  

 
 

c. List the name(s) of any person or business entity that has 5% or more ownership interest in the 
applicant (attach additional paper if necessary).  Attach a schematic depicting both the pre-
transaction and post-transaction organizational structure of the governing body and Sleep 
Disorders Facility. 

 
________________________________  ________________________________ 

 
________________________________  ________________________________  

 
 

d. Does this applicant or any of its owners listed in item “c” operate any other health care facility in 

Alabama or in any other state?  YES      NO     If yes, attach a list including the type(s) of 

facility(s), name(s), address(s), and owner(s). 
 

 
e. Have any of the facilities listed in item “d” had any adverse licensure action taken against them 

or been subject to exclusion from the Medicare or Medicaid Reimbursement Programs?   

 YES    NO      If yes, attach an explanation. 

 
 
f. Has the applicant, or any of its officers or principals, ever had a license application denied by this 

or any other state?  YES    NO    If yes, attach an explanation. 
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14. Has the facility administrator listed in Item 5 of this application: 
 

a. ever been convicted of a crime?  YES     NO   

 

b. ever been found guilty of abusing another individual?  YES     NO   

 
c. ever had adverse action taken against any professional license held by him/her, such as a 

license as a Nursing Home Administrator, Attorney, Nurse, or Physician license?  YES    NO   
     (If yes, attach an explanation) 

 
d. ever been excluded from participation in any Medicare or Medicaid Reimbursement Program?   

YES      NO   

 
If a, b, c, or d are yes, attach an explanation for each affirmative answer. 
 
 

15. Are there any outstanding citations of deficiency, that have not been corrected by the current 

licensee?  YES     NO   

 
If yes, has the plan of correction for these deficiencies been accepted by the Division of Health Care 

Facilities?  YES     NO   

 
Note: The new operator will be responsible for correcting all outstanding 
deficiencies and may be subject to sanctions imposed for past or present 
deficiencies, including payment of any uncollected civil monetary penalties. 
Approval of applications for changes of ownership of Sleep Disorders 
Facilities with outstanding deficiencies remains subject to the sole discretion 
of the Department. 

 
16.  Provide the name, phone number, and email address for a knowledgeable person who can provide 

additional information about this application. 
   
 
 Name (print) ____________________________________________________________________  
 
 
 Phone _________________________________________________________________________  
 
 
 Email __________________________________________________________________________ 
 
 
17. Administrator Signature: 
  

 I declare, under penalty of perjury, that I have not operated or allowed the operation of 
this or any other facility without a license.  I agree to operate this facility according to the 
Rules of the Alabama State Board of Health. 

 
 

___________________________________         _______________________ 
Signature                    Date 
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___________________________________  
Printed Name       

 
  
 
 NOTARIZED:      
 
 Sworn to and subscribed before me this ________ day of ____________ 20_____. 
 
   
 _____________________________________ 
            (Notary Public) 
                                                                                                       (Seal) 
 My commission expires_______________.   
 
 
18. Attestation of Responsible Person: 
 

I declare, under penalty of perjury, that I have personal knowledge about the statements 
made in this application and certify that all the statements made herein are true and 
correct, to the best of my knowledge and belief. To the best of my knowledge, neither the 
applicant nor any of its owners or principals, including myself, nor the administrator, has 
operated, or allowed the operation of, this or any other facility without a license.  I certify 
that I am authorized to make this representation on behalf of the applicant.  
 

 
 _________________________________            __________________________ 
 Signature            Date 
 
 _________________________________ 
 Printed Name 
 
 _________________________________ 
 Title/Position 

 
 NOTARIZED:      
 
 Sworn to and subscribed before me this ________ day of ____________ 20_____. 
 
   
 _____________________________________ 
            (Notary Public) 
                                                                                                       (Seal) 
 My commission expires_______________.   
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19. Current Licensee’s Signature  
 

I declare, under penalty of perjury, that the current licensee of this facility concurs with 
this change of ownership and recommends that this application for a change of 
ownership be granted. I certify that I am authorized to make this representation on behalf 
of the current licensee. 

 
 

___________________________________  
Name of Currently Licensed Facility 
 

 
 _________________________________            __________________________ 
 Signature            Date 
 
 _________________________________ 
 Printed Name 
 
 _________________________________ 
 Title/Position 

 
 NOTARIZED:      
 
 Sworn to and subscribed before me this ________ day of ____________ 20_____. 
 
   
 _____________________________________ 
            (Notary Public) 
                                                                                                       (Seal) 
 My commission expires_______________.   
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MANDATORY ACKNOWLEDGMENT NOTICE 
 

 

 

 

Pursuant to Alabama Code section 30-3-194, every applicant seeking a license, 

certificate, permit, or authorization from a state agency to engage in a 

profession, occupation, or commercial activity must provide the social security 

number of the person signing the application, whether as an individual or on 

behalf of any legal business entity. Failure to provide this social security number 

will result in the denial of the application. 

 
 
Print or Type Name of Person Signing Application 
On Behalf of the Applicant:                                         ___________________________ 

 
 
Social Security Number of Person Signing Application:   ________________________ 
 

 
Print or Type the Facility Name:   __________________________________________ 
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