NOTICE

THIS APPLICATION WAS REVISED DECEMBER 2021
PLEASE READ CAREFULLY

Change of Ownership License Application
To Operate a Rehabilitation Center

Regulations affecting the application for licensure of Rehabilitation
Centers can be found by clicking the Rules tab or link on the
applications page.

The following information should be submitted in support of an application for a change of
ownership at least 30 days prior to the effective date of the change.

1. A completed Change of Ownership license application and $240 application
fee. Application fees are not refundable. Checks or money orders must be made payable
to the Alabama Department of Public Health.

2. A copy of the Articles of Incorporation, Articles of Organization, LLC Agreement,
Partnership Agreement or Statement of Sole Proprietorship under which the Rehabilitation
Center will operate post transaction. Corporations, Limited Partnerships and Limited
Liability Companies filing an application for a change of ownership must provide a copy of
their Certificate of Existence (for domestic entities) or Certificate of Registration (for foreign
entities) from the Alabama Secretary of State), as proof of authority to transact business in
the state of Alabama.

3. A draft copy of the agreement effecting the change of ownership, such as an asset
purchase, lease, or management agreement. An unsigned copy of the agreement or a
final draft is acceptable for submittal with this application; however, a copy of the fully
executed agreement must be submitted prior to the issuance of a license certificate.

4. Approval for the change of ownership from the Alabama State Health Planning and
Development Agency (SHPDA), if required.

A copy of the application will be forwarded to the Division of Healthcare Facilities Medicare
Other Unit following initial review by the Licensure Unit. A staff member from the Medicare
Other Unit will contact the applicant if an onsite licensure survey is required before the
license can be granted.

*NOTE* Due to workload volume, application review takes a minimum of 30 days. An
onsite survey (if required) could add considerable time to completion of the review
process. Applications must therefore be submitted well in advance of the date of the
anticipated change of ownership and with all required documentation, as noted in the
instructions, before the review can begin.
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The earliest date a license can be granted is the first day the complete application and
any required surveys have been approved by the Department. [For certified health
care facilities and agencies, application to the appropriate Medicare Administrative
Contractor (MAC) is recommended 180 days in advance of the anticipated date of the
change of ownership.]

FOR STATE LICENSURE PURPOSES, A CHANGE OF OWNERSHIP IN NOT
EFFECTIVE UNTIL A NEW LICENSE CERTIFICATE REFECTING THE CHANGE HAS
BEEN ISSUED.

Printing of License Certificates

License certificates are now available online. When a license is granted or renewed, the
license certificate can be printed on-line at
https://dphl.adph.state.al.us/FacilityCertificatePrint. A facility ID and pin number will be
provided and must be used to print license certificates.

Please note: It is a violation of state law to operate as a Rehabilitation Center before

you are granted a license from the Alabama Department of Public Health. If you
have questions regarding the application, please call (334) 206-5175.
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(Revised 12/2021)

APPLICATION INSTRUCTIONS
Rehabilitation Center

Changes in the ownership of a licensed Rehabilitation Center are reviewed on a
case-by-case basis by the Alabama Department of Public Health. A license
application for a change of ownership in a Rehabilitation Center may be required in
the circumstances described below (see also 42 C.F.R. § 489.18 and State
Operations Manual Section 3210.1D; however, changes of ownership may not be
limited to these situations. Please consult the Licensure Division for a
determination as to whether a Change of Ownership License Application is required
if the applicable transaction is not described.

Unincorporated Sole Proprietorship. If a provider entity is owned by a single individual,
approval for a change of ownership is required when transferring title of that provider entity
to another person or firm, regardless of whether the transaction includes transfer of title to
the real estate. Approval for a change of ownership is also required if the former owner
becomes one of the members of a partnership or corporation succeeding him/her as the
new owner.

Partnership. The removal, addition, or substitution of an individual as a partner in the
provider entity dissolves the old partnership, creates a new partnership, and
constitutes a change of ownership, unless expressly provided otherwise in the
transaction. Questions regarding the applicability of this requirement under Alabama
law will be submitted to the CMS Regional Office for final determination.

Corporation. A change in the members of the governing body of the provider entity’s
owner corporation, regardless of whether ownership of the corporation stock is transferred,
would not constitute a change of ownership as long as the same corporation continues to
be the legal entity responsible for operation of the provider entity.

e A merger of one or more corporations into the provider corporation, with the
Medicare-participating provider corporation surviving, does not constitute a change
of ownership.

e |If the corporation that survives the merger is not the former owner of the provider
corporation, a change of ownership has occurred.

e Consolidation or merger of two or more corporations that results in the creation of a
new corporate entity having ownership control over a provider constitutes a change
of ownership.

e Transfer of corporate stock does not constitute a change of ownership.

Leasing. The lease of all or part of a provider facility constitutes a change of ownership of
the leased portion. If only part of the provider facility is leased, the original provider
agreement remains in effect only with respect to the unleased portion. The Department
does a survey and prepares a certification covering the leased portion as a new provider.
Documents must be provided to the Department that indicate which individual or entity has
first level authority over, and responsibility for, the provider located within the leased
premises.
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Management Firm. A firm that contracts with the owners to manage a provider entity,
subject to the owners’ general approval of operating decisions, is an agent of the owners
rather than a partner or successor. If management in that sense is turned over to a
management firm, this would not constitute a change of ownership, even though the
management firm may appear to have wide latitude in making decisions, and even though
its fee may be based on the net revenue or profit the provider entity receives from
furnishing services.

The only time an operation under a management agreement would constitute a
change of ownership is when the owner has relinquished all authority and
responsibility for the provider entity. Questionable cases will be submitted to the CMS
Regional Office for a final determination.

Franchise. If a provider entity states it is a franchisee of another entity which is the
owner of the provider, a determination must be reached concerning which entity is the
provider that CMS will hold legally responsible for complying with all applicable law
and regulations before the change of ownership can be processed.

Item 1: Applicant. The applicant should be the legal name of the individual, partnership,
corporation, or other entity who will become the governing authority of the Rehabilitation
Center upon the change of ownership and in whose name the license will be issued. The
applicant’'s name as stated on the application must be identical to the name reflected on
the corporate documents submitted with the application. If the Rehabilitation Center is
operated by another entity pursuant to a lease agreement, the lessee should be listed as
the applicant, and a copy of the lease agreement must be submitted with the application.

NOTE - The applicant must be the operator of the Rehabilitation Center, the entity
that makes employment decisions concerning the Rehabilitation Center’s
administrator, determines patient care issues, makes payment for the Rehabilitation
Center’s financial obligations, etc.

The Department does not recognize fictitious business names (d/b/a’s) as such or require
their disclosure. Businesses are not required to register a d/b/a or trade name with the
Alabama Secretary of State. If a d/b/a is included as part of the applicant’s legal name in
Item 1, the d/b/a will be reflected on the license. If the d/b/a will be utilized as the facility
name, it should be entered in Item 6.

Item 6: Facility Name. The information provided on this line will be entered in the
Department’s Provider Services Directory, and the Rehabilitation Center will be referred to
by this name. This same name should be reflected on all the Rehabilitation Center’s
advertisements, letterhead, and signage. The name must be unique to the Rehabilitation
Center - that is, it may not be the same as the name of any other licensed facility in
Alabama, nor may it be so similar to the name of any other licensed facility that, in the
judgment of Department staff, it could create any confusion in the mind of the public.
Governing authorities operating more than one facility may give the facilities they operate
similar, but not identical, names. The facility name may be abbreviated if the abbreviation
is also used on all advertisements, letterhead, and signage.
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Item 8: Facility’s Mailing Address. The Rehabilitation Center’s mailing address or post
office box must be within the same postal service area as its street address.

Item 17: Administrator’s Signature. The administrator designated in Item 5 to run the
Rehabilitation Center on behalf of the applicant must sign the application and make the
attestation in this section.

Item 18: Attestation of Responsible Person. A company officer, board member,
administrator or other responsible person of the applicant must sign the application and
make the attestation in this section.

Item 19: Current Licensee’s Signature. A company officer, board member, administrator
or other responsible person of the current licensee must sign the application and make the
attestation in this section.

Application Fee. The application fee for a Rehabilitation Center is $240. Application fees
are not refundable. Checks or money orders must be made payable to the Alabama
Department of Public Health and submitted with the application.

Attachments. Each attachment to the application must be specifically referenced within
the application and labeled accordingly. For example, an attachment to item 14(d) should
be referenced in the application and labeled as such.
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(Revised 12/2021)

STATE OF ALABAMA
DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC HEALTH
DIVISION OF PROVIDER SERVICES
P.O. BOX 303017 (MAILING ADDRESS)
MONTGOMERY, ALABAMA 36130-3017
THE RSA TOWER, SUITE 700, 201 MONROE STREET, MONTGOMERY, AL 36104
(PHYSICAL LOCATION)

CHANGE OF OWNERSHIP LICENSE APPLICATION TO OPERATE A
REHABILITATION CENTER

APPLICATION FEE
APPLICATION FEES ARE NOT REFUNDABLE.

FOR DEPARTMENTAL USE ONLY

The fee is $240. Application Fee Check #
MAKE CHECK OR MONEY ORDER PAYABLE TO: Facility ID #
ALABAMA DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC HEALTH
1. 6.
Applicant Facility Name
(seeinstructions on page 4) (seeinstructions on page 4)
2. 7.
Applicant Address Facility Physical Address
3. 8.
City State Zip Code Facility Mailing Address
(see instructions on page 5)
4.
Applicant Telephone Number 9.
City Zip Code County
5.
Facility Administrator 10.
Facility Telephone Number
11.

Facility Administrator's Email Address
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12. This application is to apply for (check one):
a. Change of ownership [ b. Change of ownership and name change [

The facility is currently licensed as

(Facility name)

13. Applicant Information

a. Applicant is a (check one):

Individual 0 Nonprofit Corporation 0 City ]

Partnership 0 Hospital Authority 0 County ]

Corporation 0 State 0 Joint City County [

Limited Liability Company [ Other: ]
Specify

b. List all the applicant’s board members and officers (attach additional paper if necessary).

c. List the name(s) of any person or business entity that has 5% or more ownership interest in the
applicant (attach additional paper if necessary). Attach a schematic depicting both the pre-
transaction and post-transaction organizational structure of the governing body and
Rehabilitation Center.

d. Does this applicant or any of its owners listed in item “c” operate any other health care facility in
Alabama or in any other state? YES [I NO [ If yes, attach a list including the type(s) of
facility(s), name(s), address(s), and owner(s).

e. Have any of the facilities listed in item “d” had any adverse licensure action taken against them
or been subject to exclusion from the Medicare or Medicaid Reimbursement Programs?
YES [ NO [J Ifyes, attach an explanation.

f. Has the applicant, or any of its officers or principals, ever had a license application denied by this
or any other state? YES[] NO L[] Ifyes, attach an explanation.
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14.

15.

16.

17.

Has the facility administrator listed in Iltem 5 of this application:

a. ever been convicted of a crime? YES[] NO [
b. ever been found guilty of abusing another individual? YES[] NO []

c. ever had adverse action taken against any professional license held by him/her, such as a
license as a Nursing Home Administrator, Attorney, Nurse, or Physician license? YES[] NO []
(If yes, attach an explanation)

d. ever been excluded from participation in any Medicare or Medicaid Reimbursement Program?
YES [1 NO [

If a, b, c, or d are yes, attach an explanation for each affirmative answer.

Are there any outstanding citations of deficiency, that have not been corrected by the current
licensee? YES[] NO [

If yes, has the plan of correction for these deficiencies been accepted by the Division of Health Care
Facilities? YES[] NO [

Note: The new operator will be responsible for correcting all outstanding
deficiencies and may be subject to sanctions imposed for past or present
deficiencies, including payment of any uncollected civil monetary penalties.
Approval of applications for changes of ownership of Rehabilitation Centers
with outstanding deficiencies remains subject to the sole discretion of the
Department.

Provide the name, phone number, and email address for a knowledgeable person who can provide
additional information about this application.

Name (print)

Phone

Email

Administrator Signature:

| declare, under penalty of perjury, that | have not operated or allowed the operation of
this or any other facility without a license. | agree to operate this facility according to the
Rules of the Alabama State Board of Health.

Signature Date
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18.

Printed Name

NOTARIZED:

Sworn to and subscribed before me this

20

(Notary Public)

My commission expires

Attestation of Responsible Person:

(Seal)

| declare, under penalty of perjury, that | have personal knowledge about the statements
made in this application and certify that all the statements made herein are true and
correct, to the best of my knowledge and belief. To the best of my knowledge, neither the
applicant nor any of its owners or principals, including myself, nor the administrator, has
operated, or allowed the operation of, this or any other facility without a license. | certify
that | am authorized to make this representation on behalf of the applicant.

Signature

Printed Name

Title/Position

NOTARIZED:

Sworn to and subscribed before me this

20

(Notary Public)

My commission expires
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19. Current Licensee’s Signature

| declare, under penalty of perjury, that the current licensee of this facility concurs with
this change of ownership and recommends that this application for a change of
ownership be granted. | certify that | am authorized to make this representation on behalf
of the current licensee.

Name of Currently Licensed Facility

Signature Date

Printed Name

Title/Position

NOTARIZED:

Sworn to and subscribed before me this day of 20

(Notary Public)
(Seal)
My commission expires
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MANDATORY ACKNOWLEDGMENT NOTICE

Pursuant to Alabama Code section 30-3-194, every applicant seeking a license,
certificate, permit, or authorization from a state agency to engage in a
profession, occupation, or commercial activity must provide the social security
number of the person signing the application, whether as an individual or on
behalf of any legal business entity. Failure to provide this social security number

will result in the denial of the application.

Print or Type Name of Person Signing Application
On Behalf of the Applicant:

Social Security Number of Person Signing Application:

Print or Type the Facility Name:

THIS PAGE IS NOT PUBLIC RECORD
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