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*NOTICE *  

THIS APPLICATION WAS REVISED IN JULY 2016 
– PLEASE READ CAREFULLY - 

 
Initial License Application To Operate a Hospital Freestanding 

Emergency Department (FED) 

 

Regulations affecting the application for licensure of FEDs can be found 
by clicking the Rules tab or link on the applications page. 

 
 

In addition to the application information, the following must also be submitted: 
 

1. A completed license application and application fee.  The application fee for a FED is 
$240, plus $6 per bed excluding the first ten beds. Application fees are not refundable.   
If you are applying for a state license and participation in the Medicare and Medicaid 
Reimbursement Program, the facility name must be the same on all documents. 

 
2. Organizational documents such as Articles of Incorporation, Articles of Organization, 

LLC Agreement, Partnership Agreement, or Statement of Sole Proprietorship under 
which the facility will operate.  A copy of the registration to conduct business in 
Alabama must accompany this application, if the entity was established in a state 
other than Alabama.  

 
3. A copy of the Certificate of Need or Letter of Non-reviewabilility from the State Health 

Planning and Development Agency.   
 

4. A copy of the Certificate of Completion.  The proposed physical site for a FED 
(existing or new construction) must comply with certain requirements and be approved 
by the Technical Services Unit of this agency.  Additional information can be obtained 
in the facilities rules section of this website or from the Technical Services Unit at  
(334) 206-5177. 

 
Upon successful review of the application and approval by the Technical Services Unit, a 
copy of the application will be forwarded to the Division of Health Care Facilities.  A staff 
member from the unit will contact the person identified in item 14 regarding an on-site 
licensure visit to determine if the facility meets minimum requirements for a state license. 
 
A license may be granted upon approval of the application, building approval from Technical 
Services, and a successful on-site survey.  
  
*NOTE* Due to workload volume, application review takes a minimum of thirty days.  An on-
site survey (if required) could add considerable time to completion of the licensure process.  
Applications must be submitted well in advance of anticipated start of operations. 
Applications must be submitted with all required documents and certificates as noted in the 
instructions before the review can begin.   
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The earliest date a license can be granted is the first day the complete application and any 
surveys have been approved by the Department. [For certified health care facilities and 
agencies, application to the appropriate MAC is recommended 180 days in advance of the 
anticipated start of operations.] 
 
Printing of License Certificates  
License certificates are now available on-line.  When a license is granted or renewed the 
license certificate can be printed on-line at 
https://dph1,adph.state.al.us/FacilityCertificatePrint.  A facility ID and pin number will be 
provided and must be used to print license certificates. 
 
 

Please note:  It is a violation of state law to provide FED services before 
you are granted a license from this agency.  If you have questions 

regarding your application, please call (334) 206-5175. 
 
 
 
 

<REMAINDER OF PAGE INTENTIONALLY LEFT BLANK>  

https://dph1,adph.state.al.us/FacilityCertificatePrint
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ADDITIONAL INFORMATION 
INITIAL FREESTANDING EMERGENCY DEPARTMENT APPLICATIONS 

 
Item 1,  Applicant.  The applicant is the hospital and must be the same legal entity 
(partnership, corporation or other entity) who will be the governing authority of the facility and 
to whom the license will be granted (not the facility name).  The name entered in this 
section must be exactly as printed on the legal document establishing the entity.  A copy of 
the legal document must accompany this application.  Entities established in a state other 
than Alabama must register to conduct business in Alabama with the Secretary of State’s 
Office.  A copy of the registration must also accompany this application.  If the facility is 
leased, the lessee should be indicated as the applicant.  The lessee may be an individual, 
partnership, corporation, or other entity.   
NOTE: The applicant must be the operator of the facility, the entity that hires or fires 
the administrator, determines patient care issues, makes payment for facility 
obligations, etc. 
 
Item 6, Patient Capacity.  Total number of patients that the facility is designed to treat at any 
one time.   
 
Item 7, Facility Name.  The information provided on this line will be entered in the Provider 
Services Directory and the facility will be referred to by this name exactly as entered on this 
application. This name should be the same as on advertisements, facility letterhead, signs in 
front of the facility, and certification information.  This name must include the name of the 
hospital (as noted in the rules) and may not contain the term “urgent care”, nor may it be so 
similar to the name of any other licensed facility that, in the judgment of ADPH staff, there 
could be any confusion to the public.  Governing authorities operating more than one facility 
may give the facilities they operate similar, but not identical names.   
 
Item 9, Facility Mailing Address.  The facility mailing address, street address, or post office 
box.  
 
Item 16, Attestation of Responsible Person.  A company officer, board member, administrator 
or other responsible person must sign the application and make the attestation. 
   
Application Fee. The application fee for an FED is $240, plus $6 per bed excluding the first 
ten beds. Application fees are not refundable.  Make a check or money order payable to the 
Alabama Department of Public Health. 
 
Attachments.  Each attachment must be referenced as a specific applicable item.  For 
example, attachment to item 12 d should be referenced in the document and labeled.  
 
Please note, applications can take 30 to 60 (or more) days to review and process. 
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STATE OF ALABAMA 
DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC HEALTH 
DIVISION OF PROVIDER SERVICES 

P.O. BOX 303017 (MAILING ADDRESS) 
MONTGOMERY, ALABAMA 36130-3017 

THE RSA TOWER, SUITE 700, 201 MONROE STREET, MONTGOMERY, AL 36104  
(PHYSICAL LOCATION) 

 

INITIAL LICENSE APPLICATION TO OPERATE A HOSPITAL  
FREESTANDING EMERGENCY DEPARTMENT (FED) 

 
 
 
 

 1._________________________________________ 
                           Applicant Hospital 
                   (See instructions on page 3.) 
  
 
 2._________________________________________ 
 Applicant Address 
 
 
 3._________________________________________ 

City  State                     Zip Code 
 
 
 4._________________________________________ 

Applicant Telephone Number  
 
  
 5._________________________________________ 
                        FED Administrator 
 
 
 
 6._________________________________________ 

   Patient Capacity                   
(See instructions on page 3.) 

 

  7.______________________________________ 
                               Facility Name 

           (See instructions on page 3.) 
 
 
  8.______________________________________ 
                           FED Physical Address 
 
  
  9.______________________________________ 
                         FED Mailing Address  
                     (See instructions on page 3.) 
 
 
 10. _____________________________________ 

City                      Zip Code            County 
 
 
11. _____________________________________ 
                         FED Telephone Number                
 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 

  
APPLICATION FEE 

 
APPLICATION FEES ARE NOT REFUNDABLE. 

The fee is $240, plus $6 per bed excluding the first 
ten beds. 

MAKE CHECK OR MONEY ORDER PAYABLE TO: 
 ALABAMA DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC HEALTH 
 
 

 
FOR DEPARTMENTAL USE ONLY 

 
Application Fee  ___________ Check #  __________ 
 
Facility ID # _________________________________ 
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12. Applicant Information  
 

a. Applicant is a (check one): 
 

Individual    Nonprofit Corporation   City    

Partnership    Hospital Authority   County   

Corporation    State     Joint City County 

  Limited Liability Company    Other: _____________________________________ 
  

                   Specify    
 

b. List all the applicant’s board members and officers (attach additional paper if necessary). 
 

________________________________  ________________________________ 
 

________________________________  ________________________________ 
 

_______________________________  ________________________________ 
 
________________________________  ________________________________ 

 
 
 

c. List the name(s) of any person or business entity that has 5% or more ownership interest in 
the applicant (attach additional paper if necessary).  Also, attach a diagram depicting the 
organizational structure.   

 
 

________________________________  ________________________________ 
 

________________________________  ________________________________
  

________________________________  ________________________________
  

________________________________  ________________________________
  
 
 

d. Does this applicant or any of its owners listed in item “c” operate any other health care facility 

in Alabama or in any other state?  YES     NO     If yes, attach a list including the type(s) of 

facility(s), name(s), address(s), and owner(s). 
 
 

 
e. Have any of the facilities listed in item “d” had any adverse licensure action taken against 

them or been subject to exclusion from the Medicare or Medicaid Reimbursement Programs?  

 YES     NO     If yes, attach an explanation. 
 
 

 
f. Have the applicant, officers or principals ever had a license application denied by this or any 

other state?  YES     NO      If yes, attach an explanation. 
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13. Has the facility administrator listed in item “5" of this application: 
 

a. ever been convicted of a crime?  YES     NO   

 
 

b. ever been found guilty of abusing another individual?  YES     NO   

 
 

c. ever had adverse action taken against a professional license, for example, nursing home 

administrator license, attorney license, nurse license, physician license.  YES     NO   

 
 

d. ever been excluded from participation in Medicare or Medicaid Reimbursement Program?   

YES     NO   

 
 

If a, b, c, or d are yes, attach an explanation for each affirmative answer. 
 
 
 

14. Provide the name, phone number, and email address for a knowledgeable person that can supply 
details about this application.   

 
 
 Name (print) ____________________________ Title _____________________________________ 
 
 
 Address_________________________________________________________________________ 
 
 
 City-State-Zip ____________________________________________________________________ 
 
 
 Phone _________________________ Email ___________________________________________ 
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15. Administrator Signature: 
 

I declare, under penalty of perjury, that I have not operated or allowed to be 
operated this facility, or any other facility, without a license.  I agree to operate 
this facility according to the Rules of the Alabama State Board of Health. 
 

 
 

___________________________________ _________________________________________ 
Printed Name      Signature 

 
 
___________________________________  
Date       

 
        NOTARIZED:      
 
        Sworn to and subscribed before me this ________ 
 
        day of ____________ 20_____. 
 
 
        _____________________________________ 

(Notary Public) 
 
 
16. Attestation of Responsible Person: 
 

I declare, under penalty of perjury, that I have personal knowledge about the 
statements made in this application and certify that all statements are true and 
correct.  To the best of my knowledge, neither the applicant nor any of the 
principals, including myself, the owners, and the administrator, have operated 
or allowed to be operated this facility, or any other facility, without a license.  I 
certify that I am authorized to make this representation on behalf of the 
applicant. 
 

 
 
Signature: __________________________________ Print Name:____________________________ 
 
 
Title/Position: ____________________________________ Date:_____________________________ 

 

        NOTARIZED:      
 
        Sworn to and subscribed before me this ________ 
 
        day of ____________ 20_____. 
 
 
        _____________________________________ 

(Notary Public) 
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MANDATORY ACKNOWLEDGMENT NOTICE 

 

 

 

 

 

Pursuant to Alabama Code section 30-3-194, every applicant seeking from a state 

agency a license, certificate, permit, or authorization to engage in a profession, 

occupation, or commercial activity, must provide the social security number of 

the person signing the application, whether as an individual or on behalf of an 

entity or corporation.  Failure to provide this social security number will result in 

the denial of the application. 

 
 
 
 
Print or Type Name of Person Signing Application:   ___________________________ 
 
 
 
Social Security Number of Person Signing Application:   ________________________ 
 
 
 
Print or Type the Facility Name:   __________________________________________ 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 

 

THIS PAGE IS NOT PUBLIC RECORD 
 


