## 420-7-2-.11 Prescription Drug Monitoring Program Collection of Fees to Support the Database

- 1. Act No. 2004-443 requires that the following licensing boards shall assess a surcharge in the amount of \$10.00 per year on the controlled substance registration certificate issued or renewed each year to a licensee of the respective boards in the State of Alabama. The requirement is to be implemented effective October 1, 2004. A list of the affected licensing boards follows:
  - a. Alabama State Board of Medical Examiners
  - b. Alabama Board of Optometry
  - c. Alabama Board of Dental Examiners
  - d. Alabama State Board of Veterinary Medical Examiners
  - e. Alabama State Board of Podiatry
- 2. By the 10<sup>th</sup> of each quarter, each affected licensing board shall remit payment of \$10.00 for each controlled substance registration certificate issued or renewed. The remittance shall be made payable to the Alabama Department of Public Health, Office of Professional and Support Services.
- 3. By October 30 of succeeding years, each affected licensing board shall certify the number of controlled substance registration certificate issued or renewed during the prior fiscal year. The certification shall be made to the Alabama Department of Public Health, Office of Professional and Support Services.
- 4. Funds remitted to the Alabama Department of Public Health pursuant to this section shall be deposited into the Alabama State Controlled Substance Database trust Fund. The funds shall be used exclusively for the development, implementation, operation and maintenance of the controlled substances prescription database.

**Author:** Charles C. Thomas, R. Ph., State Pharmacy Director **Statutory Authority**: Code of Alabama, 1975, §§ 20-2-210, et.seq

**History:**